KASB Leadership Academy Awards presented to 507 board members, district staff

KASB Leadership Academy 2019 Awards presented to 507 board members, district staff

KASB today announced the recipients of the 2019 Leadership Academy Awards. In total, 507 board members, superintendents and staff earned Level I or Level II distinction by participating in workshops, onsite trainings and other board and staff development offered by KASB.

“We are pleased to present these awards to those who have earned distinction by attending workshops and training in 2019,” said Dr. John Heim, KASB executive director. “Their commitment to learning more about board governance and improving the effectiveness of their district leadership teams deserves recognition.”

School board members and administrators receive points for attending events sponsored by the Association. Points are also earned through activities such as whole board training and Leadership for Tomorrow participation. Level 1 Certificates are presented to those who earn at least 25 points, and Level 2 Certificates are given to those who earn 75 points or more.

A total of 507 board members, superintendents, administrators, board clerks and district staff received recognition. In the Level 1 Category, 294 board of education members, 118 superintendents and 59 district and building staff received certificate. In the Level 2 Category, 24 board members, 10 superintendents and three building staff qualified.

The top individual point earners were Board of Education members Miranda Dinkel, Fredonia USD 484; Paige Crum, Haysville USD 261; Karl McNorton, Seaman USD 345; Micky Painter, Pittsburg USD 250; Shannon Kimball, Lawrence USD 497 and KASB President; and Pam Dankenbring, Marysville USD 364 and KASB Region 4 Vice-President. Superintendent top point earners were Kellen Adams, Chanute USD 413; Roger Stumpf, Southeast of Saline USD 306; Shelly Swayne, Russell County USD 407 and Matthew Ward, Augusta USD 402

Certificates were mailed to the member’s district in early January. To see a list  of all award winners go to kasb.org/leadershipawards

Share this post