Senate school finance committee formed

Kansas Senate President Susan Wagle, R-Wichita, has formed a new Senate committee to propose a new school finance formula.

“The Kansas Senate is committed to creating an equitable school funding formula prior to the end of this legislative session that Kansas students and educators can be proud of,” Wagle said.

The Select Committee on Education Finance will be chaired by Senate Majority Leader Jim Denning, R-Overland Park, and the vice chair is Sen. Carolyn McGinn, R-Sedgwick.

Senate Minority Leader Anthony Hensley, D-Topeka, will serve as the ranking minority leader.
The remaining committee members are Molly Baumgardner, R-Louisburg; Barbara Bollier, R-Mission Hills; Bud Estes, R-Dodge City; Dan Goddard, R-Parsons; Dan Kerschen, R-Garden Plain, and Pat Pettey, D-Kansas City.

Last week, the Kansas Supreme Court ruled the school finance system was constitutionally inadequate and gave legislators until June 30 to fix it. The House K-12 Education Budget Committee has been discussing several school finance plans.

Share this post