KASB’s Gilligan named to Kansas Complete Count Census Committee

KASB’s Rob Gilligan has been appointed by Gov. Laura Kelly to the Kansas Complete Count Committee, which is charged with ensuring Kansas has the highest participation possible in filling out U.S. Census forms next year.

Gilligan, of Emporia, is the governmental relations specialist for KASB.

KASB urges school officials to get involved in the Census to ensure Kansas receives its fair share of federal dollars, including education funds, through an accurate count.

Billions of federal dollars flow to Kansas based on population, through programs such as Title 1, Medicaid, Medicare, Supplemental Nutritional Assistance, Head Start, infrastructure, transportation, emergency preparedness, disaster relief and many others. Kansas received $6 billion from 55 of the largest federal spending programs in 2016.

The Census Count is also used to re-draw political boundaries for congressional, legislative and local districts.

“It is a priority that my administration provides the Kansas Complete Count Committee the tools they need to ensure an accurate count,” Kelly said. “Every voice is important and every Kansan must be counted. In addition to the amount of federal funding that is on the line, we need an accurate picture of our communities so that we can properly plan for the future.”

She said her appointees to the committee are “highly passionate professionals willing to step up to the challenge.”

Here is a list of Kelly’s appointees:

1)Scott F. Anglemyer, Shawnee, executive director for the Kansas Association of Community Action Programs
2) Sydney Anselmi, Pittsburg, community leader
3) Irene Caudillo, Kansas City, president of El Centro Kansas City
4) Robert Cooper, Topeka, executive director of the Kansas Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
5) Kasey Featherston, Kansas City, director of Refugee and Immigration Services at Kansas Catholic Charities
6) Tiara Marie Floyd, Lawrence, student body president at the University of Kansas
7) Martha Gabehart, Auburn, executive director of the Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns
8) Robert F. Gilligan, Emporia, governmental relations specialist at the Kansas Association of School Boards
9) Douglas Graham, Girard, public relations manager at Greenbush Southeast Kansas Education Service Center
10) Janee Hanzlick, Overland Park, Johnson County commissioner
11) Marieta Hauswer, Johnson, Kansas Farm Bureau Women’s Committee chair
12) Chris Howell, Topeka, executive director of the Office of Native American Affairs
13) Amber Jackson, Silver Lake, advertising director for the Kansas Press Association
14) Brandon Johnson, Wichita, Wichita city councilman
15) David Jordan, Hutchinson, president of the United Methodist Health Ministry Fund
16) Leslie Kaufman, Topeka, director of Government Relations and Legal Counsel at Kansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc.
17) Lucille King, Lawrence, co-president of the Kansas League of Women Voters
18) Clayton Taylor McCarty, Colby, owner of McCarty Family Farms
19) Janet McRae, Spring Hill, economic development director for Miami County
20) Robin Newell, Emporia, library director for the Emporia Public Library
21) Jansen Penny, Manhattan, student body president at Kansas State University
22) Trudy Rice, Lawrence, program leader coordinator for Extension Community Vitality at Kansas State University
23) Henry Schwaller, Hays, mayor of Hays
24) Blanca Soto, Dodge City, campaign director for Kansas Appleseed
25) Wendi Stark, Manhattan, Census outreach manager at the League of Kansas Municipalities
26) Becky Tuttle, Wichita, Wichita city councilwomen
27) Elizabeth Wearing, Salina, coordinator of Programs, Communications and New Initiatives for the Dane G. Hansen Foundation
28) John Wilson, Lawrence, vice president of Advocacy for Kansas Association for Children

For more information on the 2020 Census in Kansas, contact Gilligan at rgilligan@kasb.org. More information is also available at www.KansasCounts.org or on social media @KansasCounts on twitter and KansasCounts on Facebook. Here is a link to the U.S. Census website.

Share this post