Blake recommended for KASB president-elect designee

Lori Blake, a member of the Southeast of Saline USD 306 school board, has been endorsed as a candidate for KASB president-elect designee by the KASB Nominating Committee.  

Blake has served for 10 years on the school board, including three years as president and is currently vice president.  

She is also a graduate of KASB’s Leadership for Tomorrow program and is serving in her fourth year on the KASB Board of Directors.  

In addition, Blake is executive director of Child Advocacy and Parenting Services, a non-profit that collaborates with community and state partners to improve the lives of children and strengthen families. She and her husband have three children and also own a service station.  

The president-elect designee serves as an ex-officio, non- voting member of the board of directors until assuming the office of president-elect. The president-elect designee participates in the NSBA Federal Relations Network and NSBA Leadership Conference. 

If elected, her term as president of KASB would start July 1, 2020. 

The nominating committee presents to the KASB Delegate Assembly one or more qualified candidates for the office each year. A voter’s guide, which serves as the KASB Nominating Committee Report, will be distributed at the KASB Fall Regional Meetings and will be available online. It will also be mailed prior to the annual conference along with other delegate assembly materials to all board presidents, superintendents and voting delegates. 

The election for KASB president-elect designee will be held during the KASB Delegate Assembly on Dec. 2, in Overland Park. 

Members of the 2018 KASB Nominating Committee are: Tracy Hannah, Basehor-Linwood USD 458; Lauren Tice-Miller, Shawnee Heights USD 450; Wes Smith, Woodson USD 366; Keith Bramhall, Vermillion USD 380; TinaRae Scott, chair Morris County USD 417; Nicole Hawkins, Goddard USD 265; Kevin Milner, Republic County USD 109; Ki Gamble, Kiowa County USD 422; Kristina Lemman, Colby USD 315; Tim Cruz, Garden City USD 457; Tom Mitchell, Blue Valley USD 229; Sara Goodburn, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Janey Humphries, Kansas City USD 500; Stan Reeser, Wichita USD 259; Brian Geary, Olathe USD 233. 

Share this post