State Board of Education to announce `Apollo’ districts

The State Board of Education on Tuesday will launch the next phase of the Kansans Can School Redesign Project by announcing “Apollo” participants.

Under the program, districts designate schools to be redesigned around five outcomes that include improving graduation rates, post-secondary success, kindergarten readiness, individualized learning and social-emotional skills.

In 2017, the board designated the first seven districts, referred to as the Mercury 7 in honor of the nation’s space program. The next two phases were named Gemini I and Gemini II.

In February, state education officials started taking applications for the Apollo phase.

In other business, the board will:

Announce the Kansas Career and Technical Education Scholars for 2019;

Receive an overview of the ways KSDE measures student achievement and information from KASB Associate Executive Director Mark Tallman on how Kansas ranks with other states on several national tests;

Consider adoption of Kansas Model standards for Computer Science;

Receive an update on the Kansas Educational Leadership Institute program;

Recognize the 2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools in Kansas;

Visit on Wednesday the Kansas State School for the Blind, the Kansas School for the Deaf, Santa Fe Trail Middle School and Westview Elementary, both in Olathe.

Here is a link to the board’s agenda and backup material.

Share this post