Urgent `Homework Gap’ Day of Action on Tuesday

Please join KASB, the National School Boards Association and numerous education and civil rights organizations nationwide at 11 a.m. Central Time on Tuesday, July 21 for the Homework Gap Day of Action on social media. Members should tag Senators Pat Roberts and Jerry Moran and Representatives Roger Marshall, Steve Watkins, Sharice Davids and Ron Estes in their social media posts.  

The COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted a long-documented and persistent inequity affecting students who lack adequate broadband internet access. This digital divide, commonly known as the homework gap, impacts millions of students. In Kansas, Census data showed 70,000 students were without reliable home internet service before the pandemic.  

A June 2020 study, “Closing the Digital Divide in the Age of Distance Learning”  by Common Sense Media estimated that nearly 156,000 Kansas students lack access to the internet and 109,000 don’t have devices at home for distance learning. KASB members frequently express deep concern over this inequity, especially as they plan for the possibility of some online learning if the COVID-19 pandemic again forces the closure of school buildings. 

KASB and others have repeatedly asked Congress this spring and summer to provide at least $4 billion to close the Homework Gap in federal COVID relief legislation. After weeks of gridlock, House and Senate leaders in Washington, D.C now say they will pass another relief bill before the end of this month. With election season approaching, it is critical that funding to close the Homework Gap be included in what is expected to be the last federal stimulus bill for some time. 

KASB will participate in the Homework Gap Day of Action and members may as well by utilizing this social media toolkit. It contains photos sized for Facebook and Twitter as well as sample social media posts. Alternatively, members may simply share KASB’s posts on the Senators and Representatives Facebook page or Twitter account. 

Here are the social media accounts for Kansas Members of Congress:

Senator Pat Roberts 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SenPatRoberts 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SenPatRoberts 

Senator Jerry Moran 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jerrymoran 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jerrymoran 

Rep. Roger Marshall 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RogerMarshallMD/ 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RogerMarshallMD 

Rep. Steve Watkins 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CongressmanSteveWatkins 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Rep_Watkins 

Rep. Sharice Davids 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RepDavids 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RepDavids 

Rep. Ron Estes 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RepRonEstes 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RepRonEstes 

Share this post